Pikes Peak Christian School

Christ-Centered Excellence

Pikes Peak

College Planning

 

Questions?? Please email: Kim Sanders, Academic Counselor, ksanders@ppcseagles.org

Upcoming College Visits

This year we are again happy to provide the students with the opportunity to visit some college representatives here on campus.  They are always scheduled for high school lunch and will set up their tables in the commons.

August 21, 2018
Harding University
 
September 24, 2018
York College
Concordia University
Eastern University
Dallas Baptist Univeristy
Northwestern College
 
September 27, 2018
Lee University
          

Upcoming 2018 Fall College Fairs

These fairs are an opportunity to speak with representatives from several different colleges.
You will have a chance to ask questions regarding scholarships, financial aid, enrollment procedures, deadlines, etc.
Register online at www.GoToCollegeFairs.com

Christian College Fair
Monday, September 24th @ CSCS - 6:00 - 8:00  

PSAT Test Information

PPCS will be administering the PSAT test for all sophomores and juniors. The PSAT /NMSQT is the practice test for the SAT and gives students a good measurement of where they are in compairison to other college bound students.   For juniors it is a good warm up for the SAT and could also put you in the running for the National Merit Scholarship.

The PSAT will be Wednesday, October 10 from 8:10 - 11:45.

ACT & SAT Tests

General Information:
These tests can be taken as many times as you would like between the sophomore and senior years.

It is recommended they be taken after the first semester of your junior year and before the end of the first semester of your senior year.

If you take the ACT more than once, you can request the specific test date scores you would like to be sent to the college(s) of your choice.
The scores for the ACT range from 1 - 36 for each test (English, Math, Reading, & Science).  The average 2016 National scores for the ACT are English 20.1, Math 20.6, Reading 21.3, Science 20.8, and the average composite score is 20.8.
In compairison the average composite score for PPCS graduates is 24.1.

If you take the SAT more than once, each set of scores will be sent to the college(s) of your choice.  The college you are applying to will look at the highest.
The scores for the SAT range from 200 - 800 for each test (Critical Reading, Math, and Writing).  National average scores for 2015 college bound seniors are Critical Reading 497, Math 511, and Writing 484.
The average SAT scores for PPCS 2015 graduates are; Critical Reading 567, Math 519, Writing 590.

You can register on-line and you will need to include our high school code, 060254. 
I have practice tests available in the office for both the ACT and SAT.
For prices or on-line registration please see the ACT or SAT websites.

 

2018-2019 ACT DATES AND
REGISTRATION DEADLINES               

Test Date / Registration Date

Sept. 8 / Aug. 10

Oct. 27 / Sept. 28

Dec. 8 / Nov. 2

Feb. 9 / Jan. 11

Apr. 13 / Mar. 8

June 8 / May 3

July 13 / June 14

 

2018-2019 SAT DATES AND
REGISTRATION DEADLINES

Test Date / Registration Date

Oct. 6 / Sept. 7

Nov. 3 / Oct. 5

Dec. 1 / Nov. 2

Mar. 9 / Feb. 8

May 4 / Apr. 5

June 1 / May 3

   

 

Helpful Links

Testing

College Information and Searches

Financial Aid and Scholarships

The College Board (SAT) www.collegeboard.com Denver College Fairs www.collegefairsdenver.org FAFSA Form www.fafsa.ed.gov
ACT www.act.org College In Colorado www.collegeincolorado.org Fastweb Private Scholarships www.fastweb.com
Free ACT Prep and other tests www.4tests.com Making It Count www.makingcollegecount.com Scholarships.com www.scholarships.com
Rocky Mountain ACT/SAT seminars www.rmass.com Careers And Colleges www.careersandcolleges.com Scholarships www.citizens.scholarship-foundation.org

Pikes Peak Library www.library.ppld.org *

The Princeton Review www.princetonreview.com Financial Aid www.finaid.org

*click on "electronic reference", enter library card number & pin,

Peterson's Guide www.petersons.com Federal Student Aid www.studentaid.ed.gov
choose "education", find "testing & education reference center" College Net www.collegenet.com College Opportunities On-Line www.nces.ed.gov

Career and Salary Information

College View www.collegeview.com Wired Scholar www.wiredscholar.com
Students Review www.studentsreview.com Any College www.anycollege.net www.Lunch-Money.com
Bureau of Labor Statistics www.bls.gov Common Applications www.commonapp.org

Other

Bureau of Labor Statistics Career Info www.bls.gov/k12/ EdRef College Search Reference www.edref.com

College Opportunity Fund www.cof.college-access.net

Princeton Review's Career Page www.princetonreview.com   Western Undergraduate Exchange www.wiche.edu/sep/wue
The College Board's Career Page www.collegeboard.com   NCAA Clearinghouse www.ncaaclearinghouse.net
     
 

 

© Cherry+Company SMARTsolution web design powered by FACTS Student Information System, providers of School Site